Palatable Portraits

photo of Mr.Nassoura at home eating an apple
Dean eating a fruit by the foot at school

Q1 How did you choose the specific types of food for each portrait? What is their significance? Explain – be specific! (3 sentences min.)

I chose the fruit roll-up because I liked how it drooped down. As well as that, I like the color it had. For the apple, it was the most vibrant food I had.

Q2 Consider the lighting in your photographs. What was the light source in each of your photos. What time of day? How did it affect the mood and atmosphere of the portraits? Explain – be specific!  (3 sentences min.)

The first photo had ceiling lights because it was inside. Since it was inside, the outside light had no effect. The second photo used the sun as light. It was slightly cloudy out so the photo has a slight haze on it.

Q3 Think about the composition of your photos. Name the composition technique you used for each photo. Why did you choose to crop your photos as shown? Be specific! (3 sentences min.)

In my first photo, I used the rule of thirds. His eyes line on the center of both lines. Using this, it leads the viewer towards what I want them to look at. My second photo used leading lines. Having the fruit roll up at the angle, it gives the appearance of it being eaten.

Q4 How do the colors and color splash technique in your photographs contribute to the overall impact of the images? Why did you choose to mask the specific areas in color for each photo? Be specific!  (3 sentences min.)

In both of my pictures, I chose to mask the area I want to pop out and be seen first. They are also both the main focus of my pictures. In both cases, the color I chose to mask out is also the brightest part.

Q5 Consider the technical aspects of your photography, such as focus (lens size 75-300(lg) or 18-35(reg), or iphone mode/focus), depth of field (blurry background), and exposure (value in PS adjustment of your black, grays, whites). How did you use these techniques to enhance your images? Be specific! (3 sentences min.)

When shooting the fruit roll-up, I used the regular lens because I did not have to get close. On my phone, I used the normal photo mode. When in photoshop, I made the saturation 0 for both then masked out what I wanted. Then I feathered the edge of the mask to blend it to the picture.

Q6 What advice would you give to next year’s students for shooting food portraits? Be specific! (3 sentences min.)

I would tell next year’s students shooting food to be animated. In the picture, you want the viewer to feel like something is going on. They can have their eyes open for example, to give the photo feeling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *